top of page

Steffi Eats Around Masskara (2019 Edition Part 3): Berbeza Bistro x Felicia’s Pastry Shop x North Fi

BERBEZA BISTRO

VEGETABLE LUMPIA BOWL (P205)

There was one dish that everyone I met in Bacolod recommended me to try: the Laksa from Berbeza Bistro. Honestly, it felt so far-fetched that a Singaporean/Malaysian dish would be the hot recommendation of the locals; but it definitely made me curious. Fortunately, my friend Dani decided to host our lunch with her family in the said restaurant; so I was able to satisfy my curiosity!


Photo Credit: Dani Dingcong

In our six years of friendship, it was my first time meeting Dani’s parents and her baby brother so I was a wee bit conscious in pigging out in front of them. Admittedly Dani seemed to have selected most of Berbeza Bistro’s menu as our table was filled with appetizing dishes from end to end; which made it easier for me to sneak in my gluttony. Lumpia never fails to please a crowd; and its Vegetable Lumpia Bowl was definitely not an exception. Despite trading in the traditional ground meat for a filling made entirely of vegetables such as uhong and black fungus; the deep-fried classic appetizer doesn’t fail on delivering on taste and crunch. Every bite is made perfect by dipping each piece into its spiced vinaigrette sauce.

CHICKEN SATAY

Satay skewers are often risky as you want to achieve a charred exterior without overcooking the meat. Berbeza Bistro is able to achieve such balance in their Chicken Satay skewers which were lightly drizzled in peanut sauce and generously garnished with green onions and cilantro. It definitely beats out some satay skewers of barbecue chains such as Thai BBQ Restaurant which has branches in Vertis North and Shangri-la Plaza so mad props for a local restaurant!.

LAKSA (P295)

The most-awaited dish was of course its hearty rendition of the Laksa. Admittedly, it was a tad bit saltier than what I’m accustomed to; but I loved that it did not hold back on the heat. Its use of coconut milk was also not overwhelming. One odd thing that I noticed about it was that it came served with a hard-boiled egg, amidst the usual beancurd and squid balls.

BEEF TATAKI (P255)

I may have come for the Laksa, but it’s Berbeza Bistro’s Beef Tataki which will make me come back for another visit. Its thin slices of grass-fed beef tenderloin wonderfully soaks up its light and addictive ginger soy sauce. A fresh selection of green onions, leeks and cilantro add color and crunch to this dish; which simply looks to rice as its perfect partner. The best part about this is that a serving comes priced at P255 and is already enough for sharing! Talk about value-for-money!


Berbeza Bistro

20th Street corner Lacson Street, Bacolod

Date of Visit: October 26, 2019 with the Dingcong Family


FELICIA’S PASTRY SHOP

I may not have a sweet tooth, but I do have a particular weakness when it comes to Sans Rival. Unfortunately, it’s hard to come by a great slice of Sans Rival, especially after trying out Lachi’s Sans Rival in Davao City, which effortlessly stomps out the rest of its competition by setting the standard so high.

SANS RIVAL

However, since Felicia’s was famous for its Sans Rival, I decided to give it a try. It innovates on the classic Sans Rival by offering other flavors; but I’m a purist at heart, so I opted for a slice of its Classic Sans Rival. The ratio of its buttercream frosting to meringue was perfect; but its meringue layers definitely needed more crunch. It was a decent slice of sans rival, but not worthy enough for a second visit.


Felicia’s Pastry Shop

6th Lacson St., Doll Building, Bacolod

Date of Visit: October 26, 2019 with the Dingcong Family


NORTH FITNESS CANTINA

Mexican cuisine would probably rank quite low when it comes to my list of cuisines; but I do find myself craving for soft tacos every now and then. Army Navy’s soft tacos often are enough to keep me satisfied; even though it’s far from a proper Mexican joint.

TACO TRIO (P160)

Enter: North Fitness Cantina. This al fresco bar is definitely not a scene that you can easily associate me or Mexican food with; but surprisingly, they do offer a mean soft taco. This laidback joint centers on Mexican street food staples such as tacos and burritos while blasting good music across its massive outdoor speakers. I helped myself to a Taco Trio, which uses a round of chicken, pork canitas, and beef as its fillings. Honestly, once topped with cheese and its garlic sauces, it became a little difficult differentiating one from the other; but all three were immensely juicy and stuffed that it was a fun mess to eat through! Theirs easily defeats my usual Army Navy fare in terms of quality, serving size and price! I'm definitely craving for one now!


North Fitness Cantina

Sta Clara Avenue, Bacolod City

Date of Visit: October 26, 2019 with Dani Dingcong

PENDY’S

For my last meal in Bacolod, Dani brought me to Pendy’s, a local institution located just a stone’s throw away from ABS-CBN Bacolod. Its menu offered a range of Asian and Western classics, but since we were there during breakfast time, I thought that some Chorizo with Two Eggs would be more appropriate.

CHORIZO WITH TWO EGGS (P260)

I was quick to judge the small chorizo links I was served with; but one bite into it and it was clear why they had to serve it with a cup of rice filled to the brim. It’s easily one of the tastiest chorizos I’ve ever tried; with its flavor unapologetically immense and spices that end leaving a fiery taste in your tongue. I absolutely loved it, and wiped my plate and bowl of rice clean. Another thing I loved about it was that the chorizo seemed to be made in-house; and was far from greasy. It was a perfect dish in every way!

Photo Credit: Dani Dingcong

My heartfelt gratitude goes to the amazing Dani Dingcong for being a central piece of this three-part Steffi Eats Around Masskara series! Thank you for the amazing gastronomical experiences which came with the perfect side treat of wonderful table conversations! I’m definitely looking forward to come back to Bacolod! Thank you for the unparalleled hospitality!

Pendy’s

25th Street corner Lacson St., Bacolod City

Date of Visit: October 27, 2019 with Dani Dingcong


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page