top of page

Steffi Eats Around HK: 08.20.2015: A Date with Myself

Part 3 of 3 of the HK 2015 Special (A follow up to 08.19.2015 (2): COFFEE OVER LIGHTS)

TIMES SQUARE

To be honest, this was the day I was looking forward to the most. Nothing beats exploring a foreign city on your own: immersing yourself in the sights and sounds of the busy streets, getting lost, and finding your own way through narrow alleys, and tall stairways. That’s exactly what I did, but with some shopping and eating detours every now and then.

WELLINGTON

The start of my journey was delayed by a sudden heavy downpour. Instead of my original plan of walking to Hollywood Road from Sheung Wan station, I just decided to fight for a cab on my way there. Fortunately, the weather started cooperating once I alighted from the vehicle. I started walking through the quaint area of Hollywood Road. The establishments and structures here were a far cry from the tall skyscrapers that fill the business districts. It gave off a suburban and artsy vibe. Independent clothing stores, and antique shops mushroom around the area. From there, I found myself right smack in the middle of the food district of Wellington.

MAK’S NOODLE’S SHRIMP WONTON NOODLES (HKD 37)

I wanted something simple, yet filling (and somewhere that had an English menu), so I chose Mak’s Noodle as my lunch venue. A table for one meant a cramped space near the entrance with limited legroom, but once I started attacking my noodle soup, this inconvenience was long forgotten. The hand-pulled noodles had a pleasantly rough texture and had a nice springy bite to them. The wantons looked mediocre; but each piece tasted exquisitely. They definitely didn’t skimp on shrimp, or on flavor.

CENTRAL – MID – LEVELS ESCALATORS

I decided to cap off my Central trip with a ride on the longest covered escalator in the world, the Central-Mid Levels escalators. One full ride was around 15 to 20 minutes (and my route was actually on the opposite direction), but it allowed me to have an eagle's eye view into the busy streets of Central with minimal effort and in a sheltered environment. Spoiled, I know.

IPPUDO’S LOBSTER TONKOTSU RAMEN (HKD 100)

After a long day, I decided to grab dinner near our hotel in Mongkok. Since I was on my own, I figured I would be seated relatively faster than usual. The half hour waiting time wasn’t excruciating; but to make it worthwhile, I decided to be extra indulgent and opted for its limited edition, Lobster Tonkotsu Ramen. Although it did come with a pricier price tag than its other ramen bowls, it did feature a succulent piece of lobster tail to justify the price. The broth wasn’t as spectacular as I imagined it to be; but it was tasty nonetheless.


08.21.2015: THE TREK TO BIG BUDDHA

KAM WAH CAFÉ’S PINEAPPLE BUNS (HKD 9)

My friends and I started off the morning with Kam Wah’s lovely pineapple buns. Each bun was a steal (compared to the bland coffee/tea it came which commanded a price tag of HKD 16 to 18). Pieces boast of a caramelized crunchy dome which contained a lovely pineapple filling. The nearest comparison to its dome would be Kopi Roti’s coffee buns. However, Kam Wah’s buns are definitely of superior quality! I'm definitely coming back for more when I return!


NGONG PING VILLAGE

The first feeling I had upon seeing the welcome sign of Ngong Ping village was triumphant. It took us hours to reach this destination, beginning from an MTR ride to reach Ngong Ping station, to enduring a 90 minute queue to get cable car tickets. (Tip: Buy your tickets at least a day before to skip lines). Although the cable car ride was too slow for my liking it did provide one with an unobstructed 360 degree view of Hong Kong's green landscape.


BLOOMING TEA CEREMONY

The village was a quaint one, filled with shops and restaurants. The most interesting shop facade would be that of the tea shop's near the entrance which offers free tea demonstrations. One can’t help but be in awe at the elaborate te ceremony, complete with exquisite tea sets, color changing tea figurines, and the blooming tea itself. I was so enthralled by the blooming tea, that I ended up buying a canister myself.

BIG BUDDHA

The hike up to the Big Buddha had a couple of hundred steps; however, its spacious steps and multiple rest stops made it a more pleasant hike compared to that of the narrow steps leading to the Batu Caves in Malaysia. Due to the space, the hike was unhurried, and afforded visitors to leisurely take shots every now and then. For a fee of HKD 30, one can visit the sacred Buddha museum located at the peak, paired with a refreshing bottle of iced cold water, and an ice cream of your choosing!

TEMPLE

Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike are invited to offer incense sticks outside the temple grounds. Visit the temple after your descent from the Big Buddha as its calm and peaceful environment would give you that much needed respite after the climb.


LEI BISTRO’S CRISPY ROASTED PORK (HKD 78)

Edgar and I have been craving for some crispy roasted pork, but we somehow couldn’t get our fix of it. Thus, on our last night in HK, we decided to drop by Lei Bistro, sister of Michelin-starred Lei Garden restaurant to finally get a taste of it. The roasted pork came in uniformly cubed roasted pork with skin so crisp you can hear the crunch in every bite. It was subtle in seasoning, but big on flavor. It’s similar to the ones served in Hai Shin Lou and Coca.


LEI BISTRO’S CARAMELIZED PORK SPARERIBS (HKD 48)

I didn’t expect that I would enjoy its Caramelized Pork Spareribs as much as I did. Each piece was coated in crunchy skin, and a delectable honey orange glaze. Pair it up with the Steamed Fried Rice Wrapped in Lotus Lead (HKD 49) which is perfect for sharing.


LEI BISTRO’S STEAMED BARBECUE PORK BUNS (HKD 22/3pcs)

The Steamed Barbecue Pork Buns looked delicious but were regrettable forgettable, while the Panfried Turnip Cakes with XO Sauce (HKD 28) were in want of crispiness in its edges. The radish cakes with XO sauce served in Mu Noodle Bar are so much better.

To maximize your experience in Lei Bistro, I recommend skipping the dimsum, and going straight to its main dishes!


So this officially caps off my Hong Kong vacation with my pleasant and patient companions, Edgar Magturo and Nick Castro!


I definitely can’t wait to see more of the world (and write about it)!

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page