top of page

Dining Snippets: Nonna’s Pasta and Pizzeria x Earth Kitchen x Mos Burgers

NONNA’S PASTA AND PIZZERIA

Despite Nonna's reasonable price point, and immensely wide selection of pastas, I was quite hesitant to try it as I wasn’t really a fan of its sister concept, Mama Lou’s. It took a lot of scouring through their social media pages and diner reviews on Zomato to find its most recommended item to make that first visit worth it. Its Truffle Pasta seemed like a constant hit amongst diners; so I opted for that.

TRUFFLE PASTA (P385)

It’s impossible not to smile upon being served with such a colorful bowl of pretty shelled pasta. The noodles boasted of the perfect al dente bite and came with perfect ridges that made it easy to scoop up its truffle cream sauce. The sauce itself lacked in seasoning; but this can be quickly solved with an extra garnish of parmesan cheese and chili. I would have loved an extra spoonful of their mushrooms also! All in all though, it was a great first visit! I’m definitely looking forward to trying out its other pasta dishes (and boy, do they have a long list of that)! It is also noteworthy that its service was extremely warm and attentive; with the attending waiter immediately asking for your preferred water (warm, hot or iced) upon sitting!


Nonna’s Pasta and Pizzeria

Level 3, Robinsons Galleria, EDSA corner Ortigas Avenue, Quezon City

Date of Visit: February 27, 2020


EARTH KITCHEN

The last time I dined in Earth Kitchen was when I was still in college; which was why I was pleasantly surprised how the quaint restaurant + shop has now doubled in size and now housed an art gallery as well! I felt a bit nostalgic and decided to get one of my go-to meals, the Squid Ink with Aligue Pasta.

SQUID INK WITH ALIGUE PASTA (P480)

Gazing at the menu, I realized that Earth Kitchen isn’t really affordable; so I wondered how I was able to frequent this restaurant before with a student’s allowance! However, a bite into their Squid Ink with Aligue Pasta reminded me how delicious their cooking was. Unapologetically bathed in tasty squid ink sauce, the noodles were flavorful on their own. Toss in some scallops and a spoonful of indulgent aligue, and you have a sumptuous festival of flavors in a bowl! Technically speaking, it was unwise to order this incredibly messy dish given that I was catching a show with some friends in Ateneo right after; but thankfully, my love for squid ink has trained me to keep my mouth and lips stain-free by the end of the meal!


Earth Kitchen

Lot 10, B-10, Katipunan Avenue, White Plains, Quezon City

Date of Visit: March 7, 2020

MOS BURGERS

I definitely anticipated the opening of the Mos Burgers franchise in Manila; and was completely ecstatic upon hearing that it will be opening a branch in Robinsons Galleria (which is literally just across the building I work in!!!).

YAKINIKU RICE BURGER (P169)

Mos Burgers was one of the restaurants I frequented as an exchange student in Singapore as its rice burgers offered a convenient and more affordable alternative to fast food chains such as McDonald’s and KFC. It naturally appealed also to the rice eater in me.

FRIES SET (P100) and POUTINE SET (P180)

All their burgers can be upgraded to a Fries Set or a Poutine Set which each come packaged with your choice of drink (I opted for their Americano). Admittedly, it’s been years since I visited a Mos Burgers branch, but our local franchise’s Yakiniku Rice Burger seem to have successfully recreated the rice burgers I frequented almost a decade ago! The rice patties were compact and loaded with tasty beef yakiniku strips. It can get a bit messy to eat, especially as the yakiniku comes bathed in its tasty sauce; but it’s a pretty convenient way to get a complete meal at a reasonable price! The fries were your standard issued thick-cut fries; no-fuss, no-frills; but the fact that P100 gets you a huge serving of fries and a cup of coffee seems like a pretty good deal for me!


Mos Burgers

Robinsons Galleria, EDSA corner Ortigas Avenue, Quezon City

Date of Visit: March 14, 2020 with Lily Chua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page