top of page

Alab by Chef Tatung: An Exotic Filipino Dining Experience

I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews on Alab by Chef Tatung back when it just recently opened in Tomas Morato. Loyalists to Chef Tatung’s previous concept in Taguig sing praises of this buzzworthy newcomer; adventurous diners applaud its uniqueness; although, there are also a number of diners which find that the boundaries of innovativeness were pushed too much by the restaurant.


SISIG (P220)

Trying it out for the first time, I adopted a mindset that I should be open to trying out its slightly ‘different’ Filipino dishes on the menu. However, just to be on the safe side, I made sure to at least order a familiar dish, the ubiquitous Sisig. To be honest, I wasn’t the biggest fan of their version of sisig which had very little ‘actual’ meat in it. I know that sisig really contains a number of unmentionable parts of the pig; however, I guess, I’ve been pampered by other Filipino restaurants I frequent which tend to serve more of the ‘actual’ meat pieces that made me dislike the dish.


KALDERETANG KANDING (P445)

The Kalderetang Kanding was a bit in the middle of the crossroads of safe and ‘exotic’ for me. Goat Kaldereta isn’t really an uncommon dish in Filipino restaurants; but the way it tasted was definitely different. The tender goat pieces were made into a lovely stew of tomato sauce and liver puree; and topped with the distinct sharp taste of the queso de bola. The sauce was sweeter than what I am accustomed to; however, it was the surprise kick of spiciness which won me over!


TINUMOK (P180)

The Tinumok seemed to be our local version of the Pad Thai, as coconut noodles and chopped shrimp were revealed under the taro leaves. This is served in coconut cream, and paired with bagoong alamang. I had a hard time grasping this dish since I expected it to taste predominantly of gata, but what I got was mostly tones of pickled flavors. This dish was definitely different; but I’d definitely be skipping this on my next visit.


PIANGGANG (P270)

The Pianggang may have not been the most visually appealing dish of our meal; but it was definitely the highlight. I loved how the chicken was grilled in coconut milk, and was rubbed with the addictive and droolworthy Tausug Spice paste of the restaurant. Its serving size may look on the small side; but this dish is definitely enough for sharing.


BIBINGKA CHEESECAKE

I’m not much of a dessert fan, but Alab’s quirky dessert selection is one that you shouldn’t miss. It makes sure that each dessert would have a local twist to it, such as the delicious Bibingka Cheesecake we were served with. Make sure to also check out its interesting ice cream flavors such as the Quezo de Bola (currently tops my cheese ice cream list), Kapeng Barako, and Laing, to name a few.


There may be a plethora of Filipino restaurants which aim to reinvent classic dishes, such as Sentro 1771, and Locavore Kitchen to name a few. However, Alab by Chef Tatung seems to be blazing the trail towards a different direction. It seems to unearth non-mainstream local dishes that most of us aren’t accustomed to. It’s definitely not for those expecting the comforts of Filipino cuisine cooked the traditional way. If you're looking for a different take on Filipino cuisine, Alab by Chef Tatung will definitely give you a unique dining experience.


Alab by Chef Tatung

67 Scout Rallos, Quezon City

Date of Visit: November 8, 2015 with Wilson Chua, Lily Chua, and Jared Chua

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page