top of page

A Night in Calderon to Kickstart the Quarter Life Crisis

For my birthday celebration this year, I decided to have a Spanish feast in Calderon Cocina Tapas Y Bebidas with my family. As I turned 25, it felt like I'm officially inducted to the fullness of adulthood. No longer can I say that I'm a 'fresh graduate' (especially since there have been two other batches who have claimed that already); nor can I continue using the excuse of being a noob at work (or in life, in general). It is a cause for alarm, and a source of stress for me, so the only way I knew how to deal with this is through eating; and feast I did.


It wasn't my first time in Calderon, so I knew that it's best to pre-order its Paellas, and a must for its Pollo Iberico. Despite doing so though, I was still surprised that all the dishes were served only within minutes of each other. I'm estimating that all of these were served within 10 minutes being seated. This was certainly noteworthy.

CHORI-GAMBAS AL AJILLO (P460)

The simplest of Gambas Al Ajillo’s is already guaranteed to win me over. Give me fresh and healthy looking shrimps, go crazy with the garlic and don’t skimp the finger chilli, and it’s perfect for me. However, Calderon made me rethink this standard as the addition of heavenly Chorizo de Pamplona pieces in their Chori-Gambas Al Ajillo seemed like the missing element to what I thought was a perfect dish already.


LENGUA CON SETAS (P580)

The Lengua con Setas was another hit as we were served with a generous row of melt-in-your-mouth ox tongue and mushrooms cooked in a light and addicting creamy sauce. If you love Conti’s Lengua, you're in for a treat, as Calderon's boasts of more flavor, with a sauce that's even more addicting!

PAELLA VALENCIANA (P920)

The Paella Valenciana may have been a safe choice, but it certainly did not disappoint. The grains had a perfect bite to them: not too hard, and not too soft. It also came in a wonderful saucy consistency that made every bite rich in flavor. The shrimps and mussels could have been fresher; but these are but mere accompaniments to the immensely flavorful rice. Calderon’s Paella comes in three sizes, the Pequeña (good for 4 to 6 pax– P920), the Mediana (good for 8 to 10 pax- P1980), and the Grande (good for 25 – P3880).

POLLO IBERICO (P1000)

The highlight of the night would of course be the slow-cooked Pollo Iberico, which features a whole chicken generously rubbed in flavorful spices and herbs; and bathed in a wonderful blend of chicken drippings, a generous serving of garlic, and lots and lots of olive oil. The thought of drinking oil is guaranteed to irk most people; but the sauce of this Pollo Iberico would make you think otherwise as you would want to slurp every last drop of it. Take the leftovers home, and drizzle the sauce over a cup of warm plain rice, and you’re set for a meal. Do take note that you would have to pre-order this dish at least a day before dining!


TORRIJAS CON HELADO (P360)

Of all the dishes we had for tonight, the Torrijas con Helado was the only let down. It centered on a slice of French toast, which was salty, and uninspired. The strawberry ice cream, sliced almonds, and grape wedges failed to bring it to life.


Overall, Calderon has definitely taken a spot in one of my favorite restaurants. Much thought, and much passion can be seen in every dish that they serve; and their dishes never seem to be in want of flavor.


Droolworthy Dishes: Chori-Gambas Al Ajillo, Lengua con Setas, Paella Valenciana, Pollo Iberico

Calderon Cocina Tapas Y Bebidas

403 F Calderon St., Little Baguio, San Juan

Date of Visit: January 5, 2016 with Wilson Chua, Lily Chua, Jared Chua, and Jem Chua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page