top of page

Steffi Eats Around Masskara (2019 Edition Part 2): Roli’s Café x Sharyn’s Cansi House x 21

ROLI’S CAFÉ

My Bacolod adventure resumed right after catching a live taping of The Morning Show, hosted by none other than the multi-talented, yet ever-humble Dani Dingcong. I had to wake up really early to catch the taping, but the lack of sleep was definitely worth it. Not only was it my first time to be inside a television studio, it was also my first time seeing Dani ‘in-action’, and I honestly just beamed with complete pride for its entirety.

Photo Credit: Dani Dingcong

NAPOLEONES

After the taping, she wanted us to enjoy a signature Negrense dish, the Cansi; but since the restaurant was still closed, she decided that we just have a pre-game breakfast before our actual one (this is one of the clear reasons why we easily get along, haha). I’m familiar with this sugar-glazed puff pastries, but I’ve never tried the one from Roli’s. A bite into it was enough to understand why Dani favors this over those you can get from popular pasalubong centers such as Bongbong and Merzci. Its puff pasty is light and airy; and despite being coated with sugar, its sweetness is just the right amount. Pairing it with a cup of black coffee was simply a treat!


Roli’s Café

Roli’s Arcade, La Salle Avenue, Bacolod

Date of Visit: October 25, 2019 with Dani Dingcong


SHARYN’S CANSI HOUSE

Finally, the time had arrived for Sharyn’s Cansi House to open up shop. It’s a hole-in-the-wall eatery that boasts of years of much-deserved recognition and fame. Despite its simple interiors and lack of air conditioning, locals and tourists alike flock the restaurant to get a taste of its famed Cansi.

CANSI (P350)

An order of their Cansi features a huge bowl of tender beef shank cooked in its signature rich sour soup flavored by the locally available batwan that lends the Cansi its distinct flavor. The restaurant thoughtfully pairs this with extra cups of soup and scooped-up bone marrow just to drive this guilty pleasure home. My only experience with this dish would be the Sizzling Kansi from Locavore; so my first sip of its broth was simply mind-blowing. I didn’t expect its flavors to be as intense and immense as they were that I immediately understood why this was best paired with a cup of rice.

CRISPY CANSI (P480)

Its lovely owner, Delia Perez, knew Dani’s parents even before they were married; so she lovingly treats Dani as family. Because of this, we were spoiled with an extra serving of bone marrow and its Crispy Cansi. Somehow, the already heart-pounding full flavor of the Cansi is intensified in its crispy version. Served as deep-fried flakes, a-la adobo flakes style, the dry version of the Cansi seems to be a sneakier and deadlier version of the Cansi as it makes it incredibly addictive. Still possessing its unmistakably sour tinge, the cansi flakes are tempered with sweet sautéed white onions. Likewise, it still looks to rice as its perfect partner.


Photo Credit: Dani Dingcong

Honestly, we barely finished half of each of the dishes but Dani and I were completely swept in a food coma that both of us ended up taking naps throughout the entire afternoon.


Sharyn’s Cansi House

Narra Avenue, Bacolod City

Date of Visit: October 25, 2019 with Dani Dingcong


21

I never really had a proper introduction to the Batchoy, as I’ve always found it too greasy and fatty for my liking. Enter: 21 Restaurant, which completely changed my perspective on this famous local noodle dish.

BATCHOY

It’s clear to see how it unapologetically loads up on the unhealthy stuff, seeing as it’s generously topped with crunchy chicharon pieces; but there’s something about how 21’s Batchoy that magically strikes the balance between light and rich; that despite knowing that what you’re eating will end up leading to an eventual cardiac arrest, it’s a complete delight to eat. The soup is loaded with umami flavor; yet won’t leave you thirsty. The chicharon pieces are soaked in the soup, yet remain crunchy throughout the entire meal. It’s objectively unhealthy, yet you don’t feel your arteries being clogged up while eating it. It was after I wiped my entire bowl clean that I mentioned to Dani how I would love to retire in Bacolod for the sole reason that I am in love with its food. I believe that I have found my ultimate comfort food in this bowl of noodles, and I was beyond satisfied.


21 Restaurant

Lacson St., Bacolod City

Date of Visit: October 25, 2019 with Dani Dingcong

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page