top of page

Mazendo: Best Taiwanese Pan-Fried Dumplings in the Metro

Taiwanese food has never been my cuisine-of-choice, which is why, even though I've always wanted to try Mazendo, I’d always forgo it for another restaurant concept.

PAN-FRIED DUMPLINGS (P240)

However, there are days that I limit my dining options to Zomato Gold partners which offer a 1+1 treat for food; which was why two trips to Mazendo quickly materialized during Q4 of 2019. The restaurant's menu was pretty straightforward: dumplings, rice toppings, and noodle sets, which you can order ala carte or as a set. I knew it was a dumpling joint, but since I have a soft spot for mapo tofu; I opted for a Mapo Tofu Noodle Set as my first ever dish in Mazendo.

MAPO TOFU NOODLE SET – ZHAJIANG MIAN (P435)

One can pair the Mapo Tofu with any of their four basic noodle options: Zhajiang Mian, Chili Oil Noodles, Sesame Noodles, or the Sichuan Style Sesame Noodles. I’ve always been partial towards the thick and gooey soy bean sauce of the Zhajiang Mian; so it was a relatively easy decision. Mazendo’s Mapo Tofu came in one of the darkest and thickest sauces I’ve ever tried. The strong spiced flavor of the sauce paired well with the Zhajiang Mian, especially as the latter was bleakly dry (though aesthetically pleasing). Halfway through the meal, the taste became overwhelmingly one-dimensional; as the soy bean sauce quickly assimilated with the thick sauce of the Mapo Tofu. Fortunately, the set came with a side dish of pickled cucumbers to give you that much-needed break in flavor. On its own, the Zhajiang Mian can be praised for its freshly made chewy noodles. Two extra scoops of its hearty sauce would have made it perfect on its own.

CHICKEN CHOP FRIED RICE (P320)

The Mapo Tofu Noodle Set tasted okay, but it was definitely something I won’t crave for. Fortunately, I decided to give Mazendo another try; primarily because I missed out on its house special, its dumplings. The Pan-Fried Dumplings definitely delivered in taste and quality and is now my favorite Taiwanese pan-fried dumplings in Metro Manila. These pan-fried dumplings came with zero flair, zero fuss; and were simply packed with honest-to-goodness perfectly marinated pork fillings. The dumplings came in perfectly thin wrappers which delivered on that sought-after crunch.

We paired the dumplings with the Chicken Chop Fried Rice; which was simply stellar. I would have wanted the chicken to come in a crunchier batter (similar to the ones served in Fat Fook); but the chicken fillets were juicy and well-seasoned; that I didn’t mind anymore.

CONSOMME BEEF NOODLE (P315)

Beef Noodle Soup would have to be the quintessential Taiwanese comfort food; however, Mazendo differentiates their offering by serving a lighter version of it. Its Consomme Beef Noodle is still filled with hand-pulled chewy noodles and beef slices; yet, its broth is one that’s lighter and clearer than most. It’s a perfect complement to its other savory dishes as it serves as a perfect palate cleanser. Admittedly, I wouldn’t appreciate it on its own, but if dining family-style, it’s a must-have on every table!


If I were to judge Mazendo solely on my first visit, I would have written it off already. Fortunately, I gave it another try and discovered how great and perfect their dumplings were!

(L to R: Cam Carino, Yna Laraya, Ram San Sebastian, the Author, and Cesca Lacanilao)

Mazendo

129 Frabelle Corporate Plaza, Bautista Street, Salcedo Village, Makati City

Date of Visit: October 18, 2019 with Cam Carino, Yna Laraya, Ram San Sebastian, the Author, and Cesca Lacanilao


Level 2, S Maison, Conrad Manila, Seaside Boulevard corner Coral Way, Mall of Asia, Pasay City

Date of Visit: November 16, 2019 with Lily Chua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page