top of page

bb.q Chicken: Entry-Level Korean Cuisine

bb.q Chicken’s pioneer branch in BGC drew in massive queues that I didn’t have the energy to deal with – which was why I patiently waited for it to branch out and fortunately, it did eventually open in a more convenient branch for me to visit – just in Robinsons Magnolia.


SECRET CHICKEN (8 pieces – P580)

Of course, its main offering would be Korean fried chicken so expect to be spoiled with a plethora of flavors and sauces to choose from! We opted to have the Secret Chicken (mainly because we were teased and excited by its name) and were served with a pretty decently done Korean fried chicken. Chicken came freshly fried and glazed with a mix of Korean chili paste amped up by some aromatics - delicious, but not mind-blowingly unique. I’d be equally as happy munching chicken from Jjangdak.


CHEESE DAKGALBI (P755)

The dish my sister and I were most excited about was the Cheese Dakgalbi – as we have yet to find the same Dakgalbi as the ones served by the row of restaurants outside Nami Island’s entrance in Manila. Unfortunately, the search continues as bb.q Chicken’s rendition’s taste profile is nearer to that of our local afritada’s than anything Korean. It’s a braised chicken stew with potatoes and carrots; so go figure! I’m not saying it’s not good -as it’s a hearty dish that’s perfect over warm rice – but definitely, won’t satiate any Korean craving you may have.


STONE POT BULGOGI BIBIMBAP (P365)

We ordered the Stone Pot Bulgogi Bibimbap. I loved how colorful the dish was and how fresh the vegetables were; but all in all, it was also just alright. It was delicious – but nothing that would set it apart from other Korean restaurants.


SUNDUBU JJIGAE – SEAFOOD (P365)

Sundubu Jjigae and Kimchi Jjigae are my ultimate comfort food; thus, it’s pretty easy to make me happy with this dish. Unfortunately, despite my lower standards for this dish; bb.q Chicken failed to bring on the heat and the flavor as it served a pretty watered-down version of this dish.

 

I know that bb.q Chicken has a huge network of branches worldwide – so I’m not sure if they intentionally muted its heat and its pungent flavors to ‘adapt’ to a Filipino palate. However, I strongly believe though that as Korean culture continues to penetrate our own; the tolerance of the Filipino palate for more authentic Korean taste profiles gets more sophisticated overtime. I guess, it’s a good ‘entry-level’ Korean restaurant for someone venturing into Korean food for the first time; but for more sophisticated palates, best to go elsewhere.

 

bb.q Chicken

3F Robinsons Magnolia, Quezon City

Date of Visit: July 24, 2023

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page