top of page

Comfort Filipino Food Done Right at Pamana x Tsokolateria


When Pamana first opened up branches in Manila, I fondly recalled it featuring the drinks menu of Tsokolateria. Back then, Tsokolateria has already been buzzy as an out of town restaurant favorite. Unfortunately, I never gotten around to trying them out as I was usually completely stuffed from all the food we (intentionally) overordered from Pamana.

Pamana x Tsokolateria (Tagaytay Branch)


CRISPY ADOBONG PUSIT CALAMARES (P325)


The highlight of all of my meals in Pamana (I used to frequent its Perea branch when I was still working in Makati; and its QC branch back when it was still opened) would be its Crispy Adobong Pusit Calamares. These gorgeous fried squid pieces are coated in a crisp thin batter and served with both spiced vinegar and aioli sauce. When my family went to Tagaytay last year, I purposely pushed for a visit to Pamana to have a bite of this dish (it's been years since I visited a Pamana branch). I was so excited for this that I demanded two orders to feed our table – but unfortunately, it felt like an off day for the kitchen – despite being perfectly fried – these glorious fried wonders incredibly lacked in seasoning.


CHICKEN BINAKOL (P315)

I started craving for Chicken Binakol ever since our neighbor started cooking his own version of Binakol during the lockdown. It wasn’t my first time encountering this dish – but somehow, tasting his version helped elevate its status as my favorite Filipino soup and have been ordering it regularly since then. I'm happy to report that Pamana’s version was flawless – it featured delicious native chicken stewed in a delightful coconut-based soup. I loved how light it was on its own; but can still fill you up once you start drowning rice in it.



OKOY BITES (P225)

I didn’t really think much of their Okoy Bites when my family ordered it, which was why I was pleasantly shocked how great it was. Each patty was stuffed with dried shrimp – you can barely see fillers or excess batters in the photo – so imagine how much of a flavor bomb this was! Pairing this deep-fried golden wonder with the spiced vinegar it comes with was absolutely amazing!


SEAFOOD KARE-KARE (P550)

I’m not the biggest fan of Kare-Kare – I personally just steal spoonfuls of the bagoong sauces they usually come with as I’m not so big on peanut sauce and load it up on my rice. Surprisingly, I actually enjoyed Pamana’s Seafood Kare-Kare -as they thoughtfully served it deconstructed – separating the sauce and vegetables from the seafood it came with – which meant, less digging + cleaner ‘paghihimay’. This allowed me to happily enjoy the seafood and the bagoong – without having to deal with the kare-kare sauce. On the flipside, I do have family members who are just after the sauce – and couldn’t be bothered by the other stuff it comes with – so this was a definite win-win for us all.


SIZZLING PANCIT IVATAN (P370)

I was debating whether I should still include the photo for the Sizzling Pancit Ivatan as it fails to do this incredibly delicious dish justice – but it would be hard to describe how massively loaded this dish was without the photo. This dish was recommended by our friendly server as it’s an heirloom dish from Basco – it features delicious canton noodles that seem to disappear amidst the mountain of dried pork adobo. Tuba vinegar is then added as a finisher to this hearty dish! Definitely, a must-order!


Pamana x Tsokolateria’s spot in Tagaytay is enormous – it has multiple floors and a multitude of dining spaces, both indoor and al fresco. Unfortunately, it was drizzling when we were there, so the al fresco area was closed. It would have been so nice to eat there though when the sun is out and about!


Tsokolateria (Aura Branch)



SPICY TUYO WITH BUTTER CACAO (295)

Tsokolateria has been a common recommendation fixture in Baguio and Tagaytay so it’s no wonder that when it started propping up full branches in the Metro – it’s been warmly received. Apart from its affordable price points, the chocolate twists it infuses in dishes definitely bring excitement to the dining experience. Take the Spicy Tuyo with Butter Cacao – it boasts of a delicious version of spicy tuyo pasta (and yes, it delivers in terms of heat!) served with chocolate bread (save some to pair with your hot chocolate), a cup of bulalo soup and a delightful strawberry salad.


BAGNET SISIG (P380)

Bagnet has got to be one of my biggest weaknesses – so naturally, I was drawn to ordering the Bagnet Sisig – which was absolutely divine and filling! The spiced vinegar was simply the cherry on top as it elevated the already tasty crunchy pork pieces, the incredibly creamy scrambled egg, and the fragrant garlic rice! Apart from expertly tossing in chocolate in its dishes, Tsokolateria does Filipino brunch brilliantly! Definitely, don’t miss out on any of its brunch/breakfast staples!


FROZEN HOT TSOKO (P240)

I’m not really a big fan of chocolates, but boy – do I find myself craving for Tsokolateria’s Frozen Hot Tsoko. Yes, admittedly, this oxymoron of a name makes perfect sense once it’s served on your table. An order is perfect for sharing between two people – and could still be reasonably stretched up to three! It’s served in a pot where the server would ceremoniously stir the chocolate – then, they provide chocolate shavings, chocolate syrup and whipped cream to help you curate the chocolate cup of your dreams. Do help yourself to topping everything unto your cup, and as a non-chocolate fan, it’s not overkill – help yourself to the full experience!


I love that Tsokolateria drinks are made available in Pamana – but can we petition that Pamana dishes be made available in Tsokolateria as well?


Pamana/Tsokolateria

Dates of Visit:

April 1, 2023 – Level 5, SM Aura Premier, Taguig BGC with Lily Chua

July 15, 2023 – Pamana Restaurant, Emilio Aguinaldo Highway, Crossing Silang East, Tagaytay with Wilson Chua, Lily Chua, Elizabeth Chua, Susan Tan, Tiffany Tan, Jared Chua and Jem Chua

 

 

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page