top of page

Delivery Snippets: Ginza Gyu x Panda Express x Kureji


WAGYU STEAK BOWL (P980)

If you’re looking for an indulgent meal to ‘treat yourself’, Ginza Gyu’s Wagyu Steak Bowl will absolutely delight. Beautifully plated atop sweetly-glazed rice, the wagyu sirloin slices pride on its quality thus, need nothing more than a little sprinkle of wasabi salt to taste. Honestly, I couldn’t help but close my eyes with every mouthful of this crazily wonderful creation. If the steak bowl is a bit too steep for a meal, they do offer the Wagyu Skirt Bowl at a friendlier price of P680.


WAGYU SKIRT BOWL (P680), GYUDON (P345), KUROBUTADON (P380), GRILLED SALMON (P480)

Ginza Gyu also offers other donburi favorites if wagyu isn’t your thing; its Gyudon is loaded with sukiyaki-cut strips of tender beef stewed in a sweet sauce; while the Kurobatadon swaps beef for Kurobuta Pork, while maintaining a similar taste profile with that of the Gyudon. The Grilled Salmon boasts of a large juicy salmon steak fillet that’s paired with a dashi mirin glaze. Personally, it's nothing compared to Yabu's Salmon Don; however, as the latter is still unavailable via Grabfood, this is the next best thing to it. All bowls come served with tamago, house pickles, or both.


Ginza Gyu

Multiple Dates of Delivery via https://ginzagyu.com/


PANDA EXPRESS


I never really rushed to try out Panda Express when it first opened in SM Megamall – as I figured, we had enough delicious Chinese options in the Metro so I didn’t see the need to try out an Americanized Chinese franchise.


However, while shopping for lunch options, I do always come across its customizable menu on Grabfood; but since it’s a ‘build-your-own’ meal concept, I wasn’t really sure how to go about it.


Firstly, for the serving size, I don’t know if the ‘plate’ or ‘bowl’ option is best for solo dining; and if plate is the way to go, what other item shall I pair with its world-famous Orange Chicken? After much lurking on Let’s Eat Pare AND thanks to my brother’s girlfriend, Steph, who coincidentally snapped her Panda Express plate order and sent it to my brother; I decided that an Orange Chicken + Honey Walnut Shrimp + Chow Mein Plate would be my first meal combination from the famous chain. Plate combinations don’t usually add up to P414; but the Honey Walnut Shrimp does come with an additional premium of + 84.


ORANGE CHICKEN + HONEY WALNUT SHRIMP + CHOW MEIN PLATE (P414)

The verdict? The Orange Chicken was a delightful rendition of the classic dish – as it delivers on crunch, and its orange glaze has just the right amount of sweetness. It was good, but ultimately, it was the Honey Walnut Shrimp that commanded the spotlight. Coated in a crisp batter, these shrimps come with a crunchy honey-glazed exterior that can get a bit too addictive. It was so good that I didn't mind being served with just a single piece of walnut! The Chow Mein served as my carb of choice – it wasn’t spectacular, but it’s decent enough to be enjoyed. However, serving-size wise I did find myself struggling to finish the last few bites of my meal so perhaps I should order half Chow Mein/half Veggies for my succeeding Panda Express plates. At the time of delivery, Panda Express ran out of its fortune cookies but they thoughtfully swapped it with a pack of M&M’s and delivered it with a sweet ‘sorry card’.


Panda Express

Date of Delivery: August 4, 2021 via Grabfood

KUREJI


Kureji was actually pretty advanced when it came to having its ramen bowls suited for delivery. I have already had their Tomato Seafood Ramen delivered via Grabfood way before the pandemic even started. This headstart allowed them to already plan out the suitable packaging to be used when delivering this spill-prone dish.



TOMATO SEAFOOD RAMEN (P480)

To be honest, Kureji is not part of my top 5 ramen joints in the Metro; but I do end up finding myself going back to it solely for its Tomato Seafood Ramen – something that ultimately sets it apart from my ramen go-to joints. The perfect mix of its tangy, sweet and spicy tomato broth, loaded with kani, shrimp and kimchi; makes it a lighter alternative to the traditional chashu-topped tonkotsu broths most ramen restaurants serve here. No need to worry about its noodles getting soggy as the restaurant serves it separately (allowing you to easily heat up the broth also if needed)!


Kureji

Date of Delivery: Aug 5, 2021 via Grabfood

Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page