top of page

Delivery Snippets: Putien x Paradise Dynasty x Fumizen Japanese Restaurant

PUTIEN

Putien’s menu is traditionally suited for group dining. On pre-pandemic Sundays lunches, you can expect a queue of hungry families waiting for a table outside the restaurant.


FRIED HENG HWA BEE HOON NOODLE SET (P368)

Fortunately, it started expanding its menu to include bento boxes for solo dining; making it a convenient office lunch option for me as my office building is situated along the same avenue as Putien’s Podium location. Multiple options are available so settling for one dish can get a bit tricky.


My absolute favorite thing from Putien (apart from its House Special Chili sauce) would be its Fried Heng Hwa Bee Hoon! Personal size- noodle sets are bundled with a complimentary dessert, but what surprised me was that Putien thoughtfully includes individual servings of its seaweed, chili sauce and fried peanuts in your delivery bag. These are condiments commonly served on-the-house when dining in the restaurant. Naturally, the Fried Heng Hwa Bee Hoon and the chili is a match made in heaven; so you’d definitely be satisfied in the flavor department. Apart from this, despite my big appetite, I actually found the serving size to be hefty as I found myself struggling to finish my last few bites. The herbal jelly dessert it came with didn’t really appeal to me, so I just simply passed it to my mom. Other noodle variants such as its equally popular Lor Me may also be availed as Personal Noodle Sets.


SET G BENTO BOX (P388)

I’m also a fan of their Sweet and Sour Pork as the cutlets consistently come in a crisp batter and are served with sweet lychees. Set G pairs this viand with Sambal Kangkong and Cabbage Rice (fragrant rice loaded with crunchy cabbage and tasty meat pieces that make it tasty enough as a standalone dish)!


Putien

Dates of Delivery: November 28, 2020 and January 25, 2021 via Grabfood (also available on Foodpanda and https://delivery.vikings.ph/collections/putien)


PARADISE DYNASTY

My biggest complaint about Paradise Dynasty (and its contemporaries like Lugang Café) is that I couldn’t order a cup of plain rice from the Grab or Foodpanda app. These restaurants already have limited choices for solo dining; but during times when you already don’t mind eating an entire viand (meant for sharing) on your own, the only option available is to pair it with a full sized noodle dish or fried rice for sharing.



MAPO TOFU AND PLAIN RICE (P288)

However, as I was dealing with an excruciating craving for Mapo Tofu on top of steaming hot rice, I decided to go to Paradise Dynasty’s Podium branch and simply ordered my lunch-to-go. Mapo Tofu’s my ultimate comfort food and pre-pandemic, it was so convenient for me to simply cross the street from our office building to grab a quick lunch in Fat Fook’s Galleria branch. Unfortunately, the branch has been closed since the start of Covid-19 and other branches aren't really accessible to me via delivery apps, so Paradise Dynasty was my best bet.


Unfortunately, the thrill of finally being able to order Mapo Tofu + Rice for my office lunch quickly faded after my first bite. It easily delivered on the heat and its meat-to-tofu ratio really made it cost-effective; but the sauce tasted a bit flat for me. I wanted the sauce to be more viscous and to have a more interesting taste profile that’s a little bit saltier than it was. It failed to nurse my craving AND made me experience food regret as I had to forgo my usual orders from the restaurant to get it. Best to stick to my usual orders in Paradise Dynasty and the search for Mapo Tofu continues.


Paradise Dynasty

Date of Pick Up: Jan 16, 2021 but available via delivery via Foodpanda and Grabfood


FUMIZEN JAPANESE RESTAURANT

I’ve previously shared how Fumizen has won me over despite my fervent love for Yabu during this pandemic. Apart from matching Yabu’s consistent quality, it boasts of a wider selection that goes beyond these deep-fried golden wonders; making it possible to pair your Loin Tonkatsu meal with an indulgent slice of Gindara on the side.


LOIN TONKATSU MEAL + GINDARA (P725)

For years, the personal appeal of Yabu’s tonkatsu cutlets dwindled as my attention was mainly focused on both its Salmon Don and its Salmon Katsu sets. Somehow though, when it’s Fumizen, I actually find myself excited ordering its Loin Tonkatsu, even if it had seafood options (which I'm usually drawn to). Apart from the added option of topping it with some truffle salt instead of the usual tonkatsu sauce and curry choices, its thick and juicy cutlets come clothed in a crisp batter, despite going through delivery. The Gindara was worth every penny. It's not a boneless fillet, but it is a decadent one! If Gindara’s not your thing, they also do serve a mean Unaju that comes at a reasonable price tag of P525.


Fumizen Japanese Restaurant

Date of Delivery: Jan 17, 2021 via Grabfood

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page