top of page

Delivery Snippets: The Roti Shop x Fowlbread x Ooma

THE ROTI SHOP

I was really looking forward to The Roti Shop opening up in Estancia Mall’s new wing. I’ve always enjoyed the times I've visited its Powerplant branch; so I was ecstatic to hear that it was opening near my workplace. Unfortunately, Covid happened and I never really got a chance to visit its Estancia branch. Thankfully, it was onboarded as a Grab Food merchant, so I quickly arranged it for an office lunch.


THE HAWKER CHICK COMBO (P250)

Choosing what to order was a challenge. I was used to dining as a group at The Roti Shop, so I always had a taste of its Roti, Char Kway Teow, and Roasted Hainanese Chicken. As I’m dining solo, I had to be strategic so that I’d end up not over-ordering without having to miss out so much! One thing that greatly helped would be the combo meals found in its menu! I was curious to try its take on the Malaysian Fried Chicken, so I opted for the Hawker Chick Combo.


The fried chicken was a tad bit dry when it was delivered to me but its flavor more than made up for it! Apart from being overloaded with fried garlic cloves and bits, the chicken itself was lightly seasoned! It was paired with sweet chili sauce; but I wasn't really onboard with this pairing and preferred to enjoy the chicken in its lonesome. The set also comes with a half order of their to-die-for roti with curry dipping sauce; which is a personal favorite of mine. The roti was a bit cold already (unfortunately, we don’t have a toaster in the office) but each bite still brought a smile to my face. The Roti Shop’s roti is definitely something that you shouldn't miss out on as it boasts of a perfect 'stretchy-tear' texture that serves as a perfect vessel for its mildly spiced curry sauce.


The Roti Shop

Date of Delivery: September 9, 2020 via GrabFood


FOWLBREAD


As a sister concept of Bad Bird, it’s no surprise that Fowlbread’s fried chicken sandwiches have developed its own cult following. However, its garlic noodles seem to be as talked-about and praised-about as its chicken sandwiches. I've always found it inconvenient to drop by its BGC branch; but thanks to Lowbrow's in-house delivery service and Grab Food's Long Distance Delivery, I can easily order from Fowlbread for my office lunch!


GARLIC NOODLES + CHEESEBURGER POTSTICKERS + ICED TEA (P378)

I was pleasantly surprised to discover that Fowlbread has a number of top-up options for their Garlic Noodles. I decided to pair it with the Cheeseburger Potstickers (+P89) and a large serving of their Iced Tea (500mL) (+80). As the noodles were delivered from BGC (to my office in Ortigas), the noodles started drying up and sticking together, making them quite inconvenient to eat. It still delivered on flavor though! The garlic flavor was strong, but not overpowering; making it tasty enough to be consumed on its own, but still flexible enough to serve as a nice side dish. The Cheeseburger Potstickers were definitely hefty-packed. Each piece was generously stuffed with juicy burger patties layered with melted cheese. The sweetness from the caramelized onions help give a nice contrast to the potstickers. If you're not up to an East-Meets-West fusion, you can opt for the more traditional Shrimp Potstickers as your topping.


Fowlbread

Date of Delivery: September 7, 2020 via Lowbrow’s in-house delivery hub; also available on Grab Food’s Long Distance Delivery


OOMA

I’ve previously gushed about Manam’s Benta Boxes as it allowed me to enjoy Manam favorites conveniently on my own; which is why I was grateful that The Moment Group expanded this solo lunch set-concept to its other brands like Ooma and Din Tai Fung.


The Hanger and Ebi Super Bento comes with a hefty price tag of P595; which is roughly around P200 more than its other bento options. However, it affords one the opportunity to enjoy Ooma's famous Hanger Steak without having to order an entire platter to yourself! I actually did try to have a full order for lunch before, and found myself in a tricky situation as it didn’t come with rice; and your only option is to order an ala carte version of their chahan (which boasts of a large serving of Japanese fried rice that can easily feed two persons)!


HANGER AND EBI SUPER BENTO (P595)


The Hanger and Ebi Super Bento comes with a reasonable serving of their Hanger Steak (that’s honestly still enough for sharing) and pairs it with three large Ebi Tempura laid across a solo serving of their Chahan. I do acknowledge that tempura is best enjoyed straight from the food fryer; so naturally, having it delivered made the batter cold and tough. It’s noteworthy though that Ooma didn’t cheat its way by simply going overboard with their batter. The gigantic Ebi Tempura really contained large, plump shrimps which definitely make the bento box worth it. Personally though, I won’t mind skipping out on the Ebi Tempura if it means that we can drive the price of this bento meal down to the P400 level! Nonetheless, this indulgent treat had no difficulty filling my big appetite up!


Ooma

Date of Delivery: September 10, 2020 via Grabfood (but also available on Foodpanda and The Moment Group’s in-house delivery)

Commenti


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page