top of page

Dining Snippets: Ginza Gyu x Cyma x Mary Grace Café

GINZA GYU


Ginza Gyu was a personal favorite delivery-only concept that I frequented ordering from during the pandemic lockdown and I’m just so happy that it has since opened up its physical restaurant in Makati.


MATCHA LATTE (P190)

It’s a pretty small space from the outside but I love how they maximized the dining capacity inside – it’s cozy but not cramped despite being able to seat more people than I initially expected them to. They do have a couple of items in their drinks menu so I helped myself to a refreshing glass of their Matcha Latte. It was a bit watered down – so a warm/hot cup may have been a better choice – but as it was so hot outside at that time, only an iced cold drink made sense.


FOUR KINDS OF MUSHROOM CLAYPOT (P590)

It was my first time trying their Four Kinds of Mushroom Claypot Rice and it was absolute perfection – fellow delivery-only concept-turned-physical-restaurant-contemporary Kodawari also has a mushroom donburi version of their own – and it’s quite difficult to crown a winner between the two – as both are equally delicious, and boasted of generous servings of fresh mushrooms. Definitely, a must-have and not a bad Lenten option for those observing no-meat Fridays this season of Lent. Note though that despite my huge appetite, I do struggle finishing an entire order on my own so it may be best to split this with another person and perhaps pair with a lighter second entrée or appetizer. One thing's for sure, it's my favorite bowl by far in Ginza Gyu, unseating the Wagyu Skirt as my top bowl.


Ginza Gyu

Date of Visit: April 22, 2023 with Lisa Manila

109 Don Carlos Palanca, Legazpi Village, Makati City


CYMA

It’s been ages since I last ate in Cyma since it’s not really top-of-my-mind anymore when I visit the malls which house its branches – although, I still quite frequent its Souv by Cyma iteration at The Podium so maybe that’s why I don’t really ‘miss’ it?


MAHI MAHI SOUVLAKI (820)

It just so happens that my good friend, Mina and I decided to have dinner in Eastwood Mall. Like Cyma, I haven’t frequented this mall in years; but I was pleasantly surprised to see how it barely changed – in terms of its looks and its tenants – which include Cyma of course! So naturally, to keep up with the nostalgia vibe that stirred up in me, I chose to eat in Cyma.


I ordered the Mahi Mahi Souvlaki – and it was glorious. Yes, it was way too much for one person to finish (evident in the size of the pitas that came with it) – but as Mina and I both wanted different things, we ended up ordering our own plate! The skewers boasted of Mahi Mahi that was grilled to perfection –  and came with equally perfectly grilled tomatoes, onions and peppers. So divine!


ROKA SALATA + GRILLED OCTOPUS (P510 + P150)

One thing I do appreciate in its latest menu iteration is that it now offers different size portions of their dishes, and more customization options! That’s why we were able to opt for a solo order of their Roka Salata which we paired with a solo serving of Grilled Octopus. One bite of its classic Roka Salata – and it brought back so much teenage memories! The winning combination of fresh romaine lettuce, arugula, sun-dried tomatoes, shaved Parmigiano Regianno, candied walnuts and perfectly tender grilled octopus dressed in the perfectly sweet and tangy Greek vinaigrette is still quite hard to top.


PALDAKIA (P1275)

Cyma has always treated its lamb with absolute perfection, and I’m happy to know that after all these years, its Paldakia -sous-vide, chargrilled lamb ribs were still as succulent, tender, tasty and perfect. The only bad thing about this dish is that it’ll leave you wanting for more. You get to pair this with your choice of side dish (personally, a Cyma favorite of mine would be their roasted potato wedges).


Cyma

2F Eastwood Mall, Bagumbayan, QC and Level 6, Shangri-la Plaza Mall, Mandaluyong City,

Dates of Visit: November 5, 2022 with Mina Tionloc and April 22, 2023 with Lily Chua


MARY GRACE CAFÉ


SEAFOOD PASTA (P475)

My ultimate go-to pasta dish in Mary Grace Café would be its Seafood Pasta. It’s a deliciously light oil-based spaghetti dish that’s topped with a pretty generous serving of mussels, shrimps, clams and fish. You won’t need much seasoning on this as the natural saltiness of the seafood’s essence is enough to contribute to its flavor. Opt to pair it with a bowl of soup if you’re extra hungry (or if dining with a group, start off your meal with its addicting Cassava chips)!


Mary Grace Café

Robinsons Magnolia, Quezon City, Metro Manila

Date of Visit: April 21, 2023

 

 


Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page