top of page

Dining Snippets: The Fat Seed Café + Roastery x Apero Pitstop x Misto

THE FAT SEED CAFÉ + ROASTERY

The Fat Seed Café + Roastery has always made it to lists of top brunch places by food sites so I was pretty excited to try it out when it opened in Greenbelt.


FLAT WHITE (P170)

I love the vibe of the restaurant! It had beautiful bright interiors that can definitely perk up anyone’s mood! They also provide complimentary wifi for those who want to get some work or studying done. It has a decent selection of reasonably priced coffee and drinks – so while waiting for my friends to arrive, I treated myself to a cup of its Flat White.


BREAKFAST STEAK SKILLET (P490)

For my meal, the Breakfast Steak Skillet caught my eye (and my friends’ – which was why we ended up with a skillet each!). Beautifully cooked slices of ribeye were served atop garlic rice, and paired with a sunny-side up, a couple of tender garlic cloves and some grilled tomato. It was a beautifully colorful plate – but I did find it lacking in terms of flavor. The steak needed some seasoning and the garlic rice could have been more flavorful. I do still look forward to trying out its other dishes and drinks though!


The Fat Seed Café + Roastery

2F, Greenbelt 3, Makati City

Date of Visit: July 31, 2022 with JV Fulgencio, Billy Alcid and Veron Requejo


APERO PITSTOP


SMOKED CHICKEN BREAST AND WING (P310)

I’ve always been a fan of Apero’s Spinach Cavatelli – and that has been a staple part of all my meals in Apero – which was why I was pretty disappointed that it’s now just available for its lunch menu. Once evening sets in, Apero converts itself to Apero Pitstop – which boasts of a menu with an array of woodfired smoked meats -brined in black tea and smoked using Sampaloc wood.


SMOKED BEEF BRISKET (P450)

It has a pretty straightforward menu – you can choose among Duck Leg Quarter (P550), Chicken Breast and Wing (P310), Pork Belly (P450), and Beef Brisket (P450) for your smoked meats. Each order comes with a choice of their (heavy) freshly baked roasted leek-dinner rolls or wild rice, and two of its mouthwatering sauces – the cherry-cocoa-cognac (CCC) barbecue sauce and dill cucumber yoghurt sauce.


SMOKED PORK BELLY (P450)

To be fair, all meats were flavorful on their own but the sauces are way too good to be ignored – personally, I alternate between the barbecue sauce and the yoghurt sauce -but you’re free to mix them up if you wish. A personal favorite would be the Beef Brisket and the Chicken Breast and Wing.


CROWD FAVORITE MAC AND CHEESE (P300)

Apart from its smoked meat meals, an interesting list of side dishes is also available. The Crowd Favorite Mac and Cheese is wonderfully rich and creamy, while the Spiced Sweet Squash Fritters is a hefty addition to the meal at a wallet-friendly price of P150.


OVEN SMOKED BROCCOLI HEAD (P385)

However, my favorite among the appetizers we’ve got would be the Oven-Smoked Broccoli Head which comes paired with a tasty garlic cashew sauce! This was the perfect pair to the smoked meats we’ve had earlier!


Apero Pitstop

The Clubhouse, Corinthian Hills, Temple Drive, Quezon City

Date of Visit: August 17, 2022 with Wilson Chua, Lily Chua, Jared Chua and Jem Chua


MISTO

I’ve previously shared about my love for breakfast plates and surprisingly, Misto’s is one of the most enjoyable I’ve had. I opted out of the breakfast buffet that’s bundled with my hotel room stay in Seda BGC – as I rarely have enough appetite in the mornings to make the most out of it. Instead, I decided to order the American Breakfast from Misto’s in-room dining option.


AMERICAN BREAKFAST (P480)

Its American Breakfast is highly customizable, but all variants will come with their delicious perfectly fried hash brown, toast (crunchy and browned – just the way I want them), grilled tomatoes and one of my favorite part of breakfast plates – sauteed mushrooms. This is followed with your choice of eggs (I opted for an omelette, but they served me with sunny side up eggs), cereals or fresh fruits, a choice of crispy bacon, ham or sausage, and a choice of juice, coffee or tea. To be honest, this would probably be the same plate and food portion I’d be getting if I bothered opting for the breakfast buffet option. The best part about this is that it’s reasonably priced – despite being served by a hotel restaurant – and can easily beat out breakfast plates served in other brunch spots in BGC such as Wildflour or Dean and Deluca!


Misto

Seda BGC, 30th Street cor 11th Avenue, Taguig City

Date of Visit: August 28, 2022




Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page