top of page

Why Ramen Nagi is King

I remember how I had to wait for an hour just to get a seat in Ramen Nagi, back when it only had a branch in SM Aura. Despite being able to devour the entire bowl in half an hour, I always found the long wait worth it. Seeing how hoards of diners patiently queue up for Nagi, I guess they feel the same way.


Much has changed in the past year, as the popular ramen franchise further expanded to a handful of malls, and introduced a number of new food items in its menu. One thing that hasn't changed though is my appreciation for Ramen Nagi.


I have been addicted to it since my first bowl (a Green King!) which I happily slurped away last December 2013. To celebrate my love for Ramen Nagi, I compiled everything that I have tried (and reordered) in the past year :)

THE SIDES

Ramen Nagi's Gyoza.jpg

GYOZA (P190)

Gyoza would have to be one of the most common Japanese appetizers; thus, it doesn't surprise me that it made its way into Ramen Nagi's menu. What sets these dumplings apart from the Konbini's, Santouka's, and Osaka Ohsho's in the world, is how it's plated. Served atop a thick iron skillet, a bed of beansprouts serve not only as the plating bed for these potstickers, but also as a perfect complement to the side dish. The filling is well marinated that you could do without the sauce. Each piece came with a lovely thin and crisp wrapper, browned to perfection.

Ramen Nagi's Ishiyaki Mabo Tofu.jpg

ISHIYAKI MABO TOFU (P230)

The Ishiyaki Mabo Tofu is a hearty beancurd dish with a delectable viscous sauce that comes with a welcome hint of spiciness. This may be ordered as a side; however, I do recommend ordering this with a steaming cup of rice (ideally Koshihikari) to best enjoy this dish. Pairing this up with your ramen won't make you appreciate its multitude of flavors and textures.

Ramen Nagi's Chicken Karaage.jpg

CHICKEN KARAAGE (P200)

The side dish that pairs the best with any ramen dish would be the Chicken Karaage. I'm usually not a fan of the dish; however, Ramen Nagi's version comes with sizeable cuts of tender and tremendously juicy chicken,served with Japanese mayonnaise and shredded lettuce. When your tastebuds need a departure from the warmth and heat of the ramen bowls, just pop a piece of the Karaage in your mouth and it'll get better!


Due to the restaurant's no take-out policy, it's best to order sides ONLY if you have others to share these with!


THE KINGS

Ramen Nagi makes food selection simple.


First, you select your soup base: Butao King, Green King, Red King, Black King, or the Limited King.


Next, you customize the richness of your soup, the strength of the special sauce, amount of garlic, cut of pork, garnish, spice level, firmness of noodles, and add-ons. Sounds complicated? Fear not, because there's always the Chef Recommendation option to select if you don't want to think about it !


My non-negotiables would be Pork Shoulder (cut of pork), Spring Onions (garnish), Hard (firmness of noodles), Tamago (add-on).


Ramen Nagi's Butao King.jpg

ORIGINAL (BUTAO) KING (P390)

Personally, I've never ordered a Butao King for myself because I prefer its more flavorful and interesting counterparts. However, for the purists, the signature Tonkotsu-based ramen of Butao King is more than enough to satisfy their palette.


Ramen Nagi's Green King.jpg

GREEN (MIDORIO) KING (P410)

The first Ramen Nagi bowl I had would be the Chef's Recommendation version of the Green King, with a side order of Tamago (+50). I picked this more out of curiosity rather than preference. I was intrigued with how all flavors would jive together. Fortunately, the dish is a wonderful testament of the East Meets West culture as a wonderful basil and olive oil sauce is married with Nagi's signature tonkotsu broth and sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese on top. Its Western flavors seem to be more dominant in taste, but it's impossible to discard the richness and aroma of the broth lent by the tonkotsu. If you're craving for something lighter, this is the ramen for you!

Ramen Nagi's Black King.jpg

BLACK (KUROO) KING (P410)

As a squid-ink lover, the Black King is simply wonderful. This bowl generously comes packed and loaded with a strong garlic flavor (similar to the bestselling Ikkoryu Fukuoka ramen). Order this on an empty and growling stomach (or make sure you're with someone who's eating the Green King) because this bowl is so rich, that attmepting to finish it would lead to a suya sensation. To combat this, I opt for the lighter version of the broth. It's less flavorful; yet, finishing it won't seem like a chore 3/4's through the meal.


Ramen Nagi's Red King.jpg

RED (AKAO) KING (P410)

My favorite would have to be the Red King. I guess this is because of my personal bias in favor of Tantanmen variants. This dish features a spicy ball of immensely flavorful minced pork, but it also comes with slices of tender chashu. I usually opt for the Level 2 spice level for the other variants, but since the default spice level for the Red King is Level 5, I decided to just stick with that. Even though I have to gulp in cold tea or water in between bites, and endure a runny nose throughout the meal, the satisfaction I get from this bowl keeps me coming back for more.


THE LIMITED KINGS

Ramen Nagi introduces a new Limited King every once in a while. So far, only the Truffle King has eluded my tastebuds.

Ramen Nagi's Curry King.jpg

CURRY KING

I was never a big fan of curry (no matter what its origins may be), so I just took a few sips from my mom's Curry King when she ordered it. Taste-wise, it was reminscent of the Japanese curry that UCC uses; but since it's in ramen form, it became a much oilier version of it. Since my mom was happy with it, I'm guessing that it was a pretty decent bowl of ramen.


Ramen Nagi's Bonito King.jpg

BONITO KING

I initially thought that the Bonito King would be a fish broth-based ramen, instead of using the tonkotsu broth. I was a bit surprised to find out that it was a marriage of both fish and tonkotsu broths, which confused my tastebuds by a bit. The experience of eating it was different, and it was a lighter alternative than its other variants. Yet, it left me with a parched throat for hours after that; something that I never experienced with the other kings...so perhaps, I'd opt not to have this dish again.


Ramen Nagi's Prawn King.jpg

PRAWN KING

(Photo courtesy of Mr. Charlie G. Ledesma)

I tried its current Limited King, the Prawn King in its newest branch in Greenbelt 3. The strong and distinct aroma of the prawn broth would definitely make you excited to finish the entire bowl. In contrast to the Bonito King, the flavors harmonized flawlessly. The prawn flavor was distinct, and reminded me of the traditional Prawn Noodles served in Singaporean hawker centers.


I look forward to seeing what Ramen Nagi decides to do next. I hope they would be able to maintain the quality that it is distinctly known for; and be able to keep on introducing new dishes to keep things exciting.


As of now though, I'm proud to say that I'm a fan :)


Droolworthy Dishes: Black King, Red King, Prawn King, Chicken Karaage


Branches Featured: SM Aura, Robinsons Magnolia, Greenbelt 3

Company with (Multiple Visits): Bradford Dytoc, Gwendolyn Oliva, Charlie Ledesma, Patricia Yu, Kyna Diomampo, Denise Avis, Jem Chua, Lily Chua, Wilson Chua, Jared Chua, Steph Marquez, Jayvee Fulgencio


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page