top of page

Dining Snippets: Fat Fook x Bodega Kitchen and Bar x Kiss the Tiramisu

FAT FOOK

CHICKEN CHOP NOODLE SET (P298)

When Fat Fook first opened in SM North Edsa, I wasn’t really raving to try it. My mom actually suggested trying it out a couple of times, but I simply brushed it off since it didn’t seem appetizing at all to me.


My perspective on it shifted when it first opened in Robinsons Galleria. Somehow, its ads featured really good shots of its food that made me want to try it out.


My first time dining in Fat Fook was during the restaurant’s soft opening. It was packed with so many hungry diners, but the crew seemed unfazed by this as the service was efficient and warm.

HOT AND SOUR SOUP (P108/P268)

Hot and Sour Soup has always been my go-to soup. Oftentimes, once I see it on the menu, I order a bowl of it. Fat Fook’s Hot and Sour Soup features one of the most-packed hot and sour soup bowls I’ve ever tried. Each spoonful is brimming with tofu slices, vegetables, and mushrooms. It had the makings of a perfect soup; however, the soup was neither hot nor sour. It simply tasted peppery, that it doesn't deserve the right to be called Hot and Sour.

TAIWAN STYLE FRIED NOODLES (P228)

I’ve always been drawn towards stir-fried noodles, and Fat Fook's Taiwan Style Fried Noodles does not disappoint. The noodles had a nice bite to them, and are tossed in a delicious dark sauce. A single order of it is massive and ideal for sharing. My only request is that they come out with a for-one serving.

MAPO TOFU (P208)

Its Mapo Tofu is also something to look forward to. It’s not as spicy as I’d like it to be; however, its dark soy base is packed with flavor that it’d be cruel not to pair it with a cup of rice. A hearty meal that easily satisfies.


Its Chicken Chop Noodle Set was the epitome of balance. The chicken strips came with a nice and crisp batter, were juicy and perfectly seasoned, while its spiced flavor is balanced by the clear broth of the noodle soup it comes with.


This has definitely become a lunch time favorite of mine as it serves delicious and filling meals at reasonable prices.


Fat Fook Taiwanese Kitchen

2F Robinsons Galleria, EDSA cor Ortigas, Ugong Norte, QC

Various Dates

BODEGA KITCHEN AND BAR

JOGGING BUKAS (P1000)

When I heard about Bodega Kitchen’s Jogging Bukas, I was ecstatic to try it out as I’m crazily obsessed with deep fried pork. The Jogging Bukas unapologetically flaunts a platter of Lechong Bagnet, Chicharon Bulaklak, and Crispy Pata! It sounds like a masterpiece made in heaven; however, it failed to impress when my friends and I started digging into it. The Lechong Bagnet was on the dry side; while the Crispy Pata wasn’t crispy. The only thing I enjoyed from the platter was the Chicharon Bulaklak as each piece was well-seasoned and crunchy. I did appreciate that they served a variety of sauces for one to pair the meats with; however, that's one of the very few things I liked about the dish.

MACHO NACHOS (P390)

Its Macho Nachos was a lightweight compared to the expectations set by its name. Its toppings were kept to a minimum of sour cream, Jalapeno peppers, and melted cheese. It tasted okay; however, it’s not something that makes you excited. Best to get your nacho fix at Gringo’s instead!


Bodega Kitchen and Bar

Two Central, 109 Valero Street, Salcedo Village, Makati City

Date of Visit: January 19, 2018 with Jeric Badion, Sam Bautista, and Giselle Sy


KISS THE TIRAMISU

There’s something alluring to the idea of eating tiramisu from a golden goblet. The touch of topping it with gold obviously makes it more exquisite. Such is the experience promised by the dessert franchise, Kiss the Tiramisu.

MIDAS TOUCH (P295)

Its premium variant, the Midas Touch doesn’t actually taste like tiramisu as it trades in the typical mascarpone and cocoa for ube and cornflakes. However, I opted for this variant as it boasted gold sheets as its topping. It’s not everyday that you can eat gold, so I definitely wouldn’t pass on that! Ultimately though, it was underwhelming to eat. I was expecting a cheesier consistency for its soft-serve ice cream (similar to that of Cow Cow’s); however, it simply tasted like sweet milk. One good thing that came out from this experience was that they allow you to bring home the goblet as a souvenir. The staff are more than willing to clean them up and place them in individual paper bags to make them easier to bring home.

Kiss the Tiramisu

Three Central, Valero St., Salcedo Village, Makati City

Date of Visit: January 19, 2018 with Jeric Badion, Sam Bautista, and Giselle Sy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page