top of page

Dining Snippets: Red Lobster x Gata Flavors of Bicolandia Atbp x Souv!

RED LOBSTER

COD NEW ORLEANS (P525)


When news broke out that Red Lobster was coming to Manila, I admittedly got caught up in the frenzy stirred by all the glowing features about it. Hearing that it was brought over by The Bistro Group made me a bit apprehensive because the quality of their concepts tend to decline. Added to that, being situated far away in S Maison definitely made it inconvenient to go to.

CHEDDAR BAY BISCUITS

Eventually the opportunity to finally try it opened up when I had more than enough time to kill before catching Phantom of the Opera in Solaire. Since I was dining solo, I wasn’t able to sample its lobster main dishes. Instead, I opted for the Cod New Orleans, as it’s one of the few choices on the menu good enough for solo dining. While waiting for my order, the servers gave me a complimentary plate of the restaurant’s famed Cheddar Bay Biscuits. Admittedly, the only biscuits I’m accustomed to would be those dipped in honey and paired with Southern Fried Chicken ala Popeye's style. Due to this, I found that the Cheddar Bay Biscuits were too savory and dense for my liking; but they do serve as the perfect vessel to scoop up creamier sauces.


The Cod New Orleans featured a gorgeously smoky and juicy blackened slice of cod fillet and insanely tiny shrimps on top of a delectable bed of mashed potato cooked in Cajun butter sauce. Scoops of pico de gallo help add some much welcomed citrus to cut through the creaminess of the dish.


Red Lobster

Level 1, S Maison, Conrad Manila, Seaside Boulevard corner Coral Way, Mall of Asia Complex, Pasay City


GATA FLAVORS OF BICOLANDIA ATBP

Gata Flavors of Bicolandia Atbp heavily relies on the versatility of gata (coconut milk), coconut juice, and coconut meat as in focuses its menu on this ingredient. Being fans of dishes which make use of gata, my mom and I decided to have lunch there.

CHICKEN BINAKOL (P320)

I first fell in love with the Chicken Binakol of Sarsa Kitchen. Unfortunately, the trendy Filipino restaurant decided to discontinue this beloved dish. Luckily, I didn’t have to look too long or too far to find a replacement as Lazat (formerly Cerchio) prepares it even better.


Seeing it listed on Gata’s menu, I immediately jumped to order it. At an affordable price of P320, one is treated to a gigantic serving of the sweet Binakol - clear chicken broth naturally sweetened by the meat and juice of a coconut. I love that the chicken meat was tender; and that the soup was refreshing. I just found it a little bit too sweet for my liking.

BICOL EXPRESS (P259) and KINUNOT (P299)

We then ordered the quintessential Bicolano dish, the Bicol Express. It packs in the heat; but fails to deliver on flavor. The gata used was deliciously rich; but the whole dish seemed to be flat taste-wise. We paired this with something totally unfamiliar for us; the Kinunot. The Kinunot contains flakes of stingray simmered in Gata and paired with Malunggay leaves. My sole encounter with stingray would have to be the barbecued and grilled version you get from Singaporean hawker centers (which I absolutely love) so having it served chopped up and in a saucy stew was completely new for me. Admittedly, it was not the wisest option to order it alongside another gata-heavy dish, the Bicol Express, as both eventually tasted the same. Perhaps I’d prefer them to serve the stingray in larger fillets since the stingray flakes tended to be too mushed up for my liking.

LARGE SHRIMPS WITH ALIGUE SAUCE (P310)

We completed our meal with the indulgent Large Shrimps with Aligue Sauce. Back when I was younger, I really couldn’t appreciate the richness in flavor that aligue (or its sauce) contains. (Un)fortunately for me, I gained new appreciation for it when I got older. Gata’s rendition of the aligue Sauce is a mellowed down version that delivers on taste without giving your heart a jolt. I definitely won't mind ordering this again.


Overall, Gata’s dishes were okay; but not phenomenal. With Bistro Pamana and Lazat situated nearby, it becomes easy to just trade it off for a heartier and more satisfying meal elsewhere.


Gata Flavors of Bicolandia Atbp

Unit 3, 143 Mother Ignacia Avenue, Brgy Diliman, Quezon City

Date of Visit: March 2, 2019 with Lily Chua


SOUV!

Cyma was the first restaurant which introduced Greek cuisine to me. From its consistently juicy grilled lambs, to its extremely flavorful Garides Saganaki and consistent fan favorite Roka Salata, Cyma remains to be part of my dining rotation. Lately though, its newest branches bare the name Souv!. If you take a quick peek at its menu, you’d see that it closely resembles that of Cyma’s. However, as its friendly staff (from the Podium branch) patiently pointed out to us, Souv! focuses more on its grilled offerings. It’s also more open to fusion concepts and appeal to a quick-serve mode of dining; in contrast to the more traditional lineup of Cyma's.

LAMB PLATTER (P1290)

The first time I tried Souv!, I was with my barkada. We mainly ordered items which closely resembled tried and tested Cyma favorites which delivered on taste and quality; but experience-wise, it felt like an ordinary meal in Cyma.


During my second visit to Souv!, my sister prodded for me to order its meat platter. One can mix and match different kinds of protein; but I opted for an all-lamb option. Other variations can be all chicken, all pork, a combination of any 2 or 3 proteins. Of course, each will come with a different price tag.


The platters are advertised as good for two, but the pita quarters they come with are enough for three. The melt-in-your-mouth lamb will get you hooked from the very first bite. Each chunk is meaty, juicy, tender, and well-seasoned. Complete each bite with some pickled vegetables and garlic yogurt sauce to make it perfect. Every order comes with their delicious roasted potatoes and a bowl of coleslaw.

FROZEN GREEK YOGURT (P165)

Despite such a succulent meal, it was Souv!’s Frozen Greek Yogurt which won me over. I loved that it had so many different topping options; namely: Strawberry and Balsamic Syrup, Crumbled Baklava, Fig Jam, Carrot Jam and Chili Lime Salt, Feta Cheesecake, Orange Saffron, Greek Evoo and Sea Salt. However, I’m a purist when it comes to yogurt, so I always opt for the Wild Flower Honey topping. It’s the perfect pick-me-up dessert cup that’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face. The quality of the fresh yogurt and the honey is unquestionable. Admittedly, I have visited Souv! solely just to take out a cup of their Frozen Greek Yogurt, and I hope more people continue to do so!


Souv!

3F, The Podium, 18 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Center, Pasig City

Date of Visit: March 12, 2019 with Jem Chua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page