top of page

Dining Snippets: Antonio’s x Butamaru Ramen x  Izakaya x Old Swiss Inn

ANTONIO’S


A trip to Tagaytay never feels complete without dropping by any of the restaurants in the Antonio’s group. Breakfast at Antonio’s is always a must-go as I’m totally in love with its Fresh Corned Beef and its Banana Pecan Waffles. I’m not much of a fan of Balay Dako but I do try my best to chance upon its massive breakfast buffet spread or at least visit its gorgeous location to pack up on some take-home goodies. Antonio's fine dining concept though has always been elusive for me; as it often requires prior table reservations and for one to dress up a bit, conditions that usually don’t sit well with my family and friends.

ICEBERG WEDGE

This is why this was only my second time to dine in Antonio’s. I’ve always had the notion that its prices were incredibly steep, but all its entrees come served with a choice between the Iceberg Wedge or the House Salad, the Soup of the Day, a sorbet, and your choice from its dessert list.


Naturally, seeing that the Iceberg Wedge came served with crispy pancetta, it became an easy choice for me. Dressed in a red onion vinaigrette, the iceberg lettuce came with beets, apples, and bleu d’Auvergne. I found the salad on the dry side, especially as it came with sizeable chunks of iceberg lettuce. The apples weren’t enough to lend some sweetness to the sourness of the vinaigrette and the bitterness of the vegetables. Seeing as how my friends enjoyed the House Salad, that might have been the better choice.

ROASTED DUCK BREAST (P2600)


We were then served with a bowl of creamy pumpkin soup; followed by a nice calamansi sorbet. Both were perfectly executed, but definitely nothing noteworthy about them. Fortunately, its Roasted Duck Breast brought out all the stops and completely won me over. The serving size was definitely filling (and was enough for sharing but I had it all to myself) as it boasted of numerous slices of duck, generously oozing in its juices. Mixed berries stood in as the perfect sweeteners to the Cabernet Sauvignon jus; while a sizeable indulgent slice of foie gras sits atop as the crown jewel of the plate. Creamy mashed potatoes and braised red cabbage serve as the perfect sides to this tasty dish. I definitely enjoyed each bite of this dish.


Its dessert selection will definitely make it difficult for those with a sweet tooth as the list includes flourless chocolate cake, pavlovas and even a cheese assortment plate! Fortunately, I’m picky with desserts so it was so easy to eliminate most of the choices. I ended up with the Apple Walnut Crumble with Calvados Ice Cream; which I definitely enjoyed. I loved the varying crunchy textures given off by the apples and the walnuts; while the sweet Calvados brandy definitely adds a kick to each spoonful of the ice cream.


Antonio’s

Purok 138 Barangay, Tagaytay

Date of Visit: August 31, 2019 with Angelli Dykimching, Elaine Co, Ina Chua and Hazel Yap

BUTAMARU RAMEN x IZAKAYA


Butamaru Ramen x Izakaya has an immensely strong word-of-mouth following that made me really curious to try it. Unfortunately, its branches are simply quite inconvenient for me to go to. that it was hard to make a trip there. Fortunately, an opportunity came up when my friends and I were looking for somewhere to eat in Ortigas so I quickly made arrangements to dine in its Technopoint branch.


TRUFFLE GYOZA (P220)


They had a couple of interesting quirky ramen options like the Curry Tantanmen and its Kaisen (seafood) ramen, but I decided that it’s best to stick to the classics to be able to accurately judge its food without the fluff, so it was the Tantanmen for me.


TORI TEN (P220) and TANTANMEN (P370)


Its ramen is considerably cheaper when compared to Ramen Nagi, Mendokoro Ramenba and Ippudo; especially if you consider that each bowl already comes with its own Ajitama egg already. Aesthetically, I was served with the most photogenic ramen bowl I’ve had in a while; as each ingredient is delicately arranged to appease my inner OCD tendencies. The best part about it was that it tastes as good as it looks. It was easily the best tasting Tantanmen I’ve tried; from its well-marinated ground meat topping to its immensely umami-rich broth.

SHOYU RAMEN (P350)


I enjoyed my Tantanmen so much that I went back to Butamaru immediately for lunch the day after and helped myself to a serving of their Shoyu Ramen. I was served with a less pretty bowl; but one still armed with its tasty broth that fortunately doesn’t leave you parched after slurping it. The Truffle Gyoza came with a truffle cream sauce that I’d swap in a heartbeat for the classic gyoza sauce; so opting for the Original version would not be a bad idea. Its dumplings proudly flaunt their crisp thin wrapper which give way to a really juicy filling inside. The Tori Ten is another good side dish to have; crisp chicken cutlets served with ponzu sauce in lieu of the classic Japanese mayonnaise.


Here's to hoping for a stronger and larger following for Butamaru Ramen so that it can expand to a more convenient location!


Butamaru Ramen x Izakaya

1 Technopoint Building, Home Depot, Complex, Julia Vargas Avenue, Pasig City

Dates of Visit: September 6, 2019 (with Jeric Badion, Sam Bautista, and Giselle Sy) and September 7, 2019 (with Lily Chua)


OLD SWISS INN

Old Swiss Inn has always been a childhood favorite. It was the restaurant that introduced to me the wonder of cheese and beef fondue; and sparked my love for fresh corned beef and horseradish.

FRESH CORNED BEEF (P690)


Its fresh corned beef is consistently tender, cooked in a light beef broth and served with boiled potatoes and cabbage that honestly can be summed up as simply, a fancy version of your mom’s nilaga. True, it’s something that can easily be replicated at home as long as you’re armed with some good horseradish; but somehow, a visit to Old Swiss Inn is incomplete without it. I usually like pairing it with some good old hearty Goulash (which also come in special take-home tubs). The hearty tomato sauce helps lend flavor and color to the meal.

ZURICH GESCHNETZELTES (P570)


Another personal must-have favorite would be the Zurich Geschnetzeltes which until now I have yet to pronounce and spell properly on my own (I usually just point it out with my finger on the menu). Gorgeous strips of pork tenderloin are cooked in a mushroom sauce that’s reminiscent of stroganoff sauce. The mushroom sauce is best eaten with the roesti potatoes served on the side.


Old Swiss Inn is not a cheap restaurant; but it’s always been open to partnering with dining apps such as Booky and Zomato, and credit cards from time to time to give you more value for your money!


Old Swiss Inn

Ground Floor, Somerset Olympia, Makati Ave cor Sto Tomas, Makati City

Date of Visit: September 14, 2019 with Lily Chua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page