top of page

Breakfast at Singapore 2023: Ya Kun Kaya Toast x Glasshouse

YA KUN KAYA TOAST


Nothing beats a good old cup of Kopi from one of the trusty breakfast chains in Singapore, Ya Kun Kaya Toast. Yes, it has branches in Manila already – but somehow, grabbing a cup of coffee amidst the hustle and bustle of students and employees rushing to school and work in Singapore makes you feel the pulse of the bustling city.


KOPI (SGD 2)

I seldom enjoy my coffee sweetened but Singaporean Kopi will always be an exception – if brewed well – it boasts of a perfect balance of sweetness and the distinct taste of coffee for that caffeine kick. Of course, you can go and grab the full works – complete with slices of Kaya Toast and soft boiled eggs for the full experience.

 

Ya Kun Kaya Toast

Plaza Singapura, 68 Orchard Road, #04-70/71

Date of Visit: June 20, 2023 with Lily Chua

GLASSHOUSE



Nothing beats a peaceful stroll along Chijmes – its gorgeous architecture and its well-kept open spaces would always be impressive.


I decided to bring my mom to Glasshouse to enjoy some brunch – and I loved how each table came with conversation cards – perfect for get-to-know-you icebreakers!


BUILD YOUR OWN BREAKFAST (SGD26)

They have a pretty decent brunch selection; but I was drawn to its build-your-own concept as it allowed me to create my ultimate pick-me-up breakfast. Admittedly, I went quite overboard with it – my running total ended up reaching SGD26 – pretty steep for brunch, haha but no regrets – as it’s really the breakfast plate of my dreams! A gorgeous serving of smoked salmon (see its beautifully bright color) paired with incredibly creamy scrambled eggs, a crunchy slice of hasb brown and to-die-for sauteed wild mushrooms - I couldn't ask for more. My only complaint (apart from its price, haha would be that the hash brown was on the greasy side). I paired this with the perfect cup of coffee that came in the form of their Peru Blend (I opted to have it filtered) (SGD8).


Glasshouse

#01-03, 30 Victoria St, Chijmes, Singapore, 187996

Date of Visit: June 21, 2023 with Lily Chua

 

 

 

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page